All IPL Purple Cap Winners List From 2008 To 2021

IPL Purple Cap Winners List From 2008 Till 2021

IPL is no longer a batsmen league now. It is discovering more and more bowlers with equal potential to change the game.

Best Bowlers from all over the world participate in the IPL. And it’s a great opportunity for them to show their credentials to the world.

On the same side, IPL does reward potential bowlers. Purple Cap is the award given to the bowlers with the most wickets. Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneswar Kumar are two bowlers with the most number of Purple Cap awards, that is 2, the highest winning.

Below, we’ve documented a list of Purple Cap winners throughout the years.

On a side note, if you’re looking for a trustworthy betting site in India. Look no further, as 24betting is all you need. It supports Indian currency with fast cash out payment methods and easy bettings. We offer expert guides on how to bet on IPL that’ll make your bettings smooth and convenient.

List of IPL Purple Cap Winners in 2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)

Back in 2008, Pakistani players were allowed to participate in IPL. And that is when the Pakistani pacer Sohail Tanvir made history by winning the Purple Cap award during the inaugural season. Sohail took the most wickets which are 22, during that year, playing his part in the victory of the Rajasthan Royals.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List in 2009 – RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)

This year, a player from the Deccan side, broke the record of Sohail’s 22 and took 23 wickets in just 16 matches. It was the highest of the 2009 season. And once again, the number of wickets contributed to the winning of the very team, which was Deccan Chargers this time.

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL 2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

It was once again Deccan Chargers that took home the Purple Cap award with help of their left-arm orthodox bowler, Pragyan Ojha. Ojha took 21 wickets at an economy of 7.29 in 16 matches and an average of 20.42.

Purple Cap Winners List in IPL 2011 – Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

The same year Mumbai Indians were placed second on the IPL points table, they marked their name in the list of Purple Cap winners. Lasith Malinga, Sri Lankan fast bowler, was part of the Mumbai Indians team and he took 28 wickets, the highest of that time, in 16 matches.

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL 2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Capitals)

Morne Morkel, a South African pacer won the Purple cap award this time, for Delhi Capitals, formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils. Morne took 25 wickets in 16 matches with a 4-wicket haul at an economy of 7.19.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List in 2013 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

Dwayne Bravo or more popularly known as DJ Bravo is one of those bowlers that took the most wickets in IPL history. He took 32 wickets in 18 matches and played a big role in Chennai Super Kings reaching the finals.

Purple Cap Winners in IPL List 2014 – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)

MS Dhoni-led CSK contributed another player to the list of Purple Cap winners. Mohit Sharma took 23 wickets in 16 matches and made heads turn towards himself. His brilliant performance in IPL 2014 was the reason he was chosen for the Indian cricket team.

List of IPL Purple Cap Winners in 2015 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

It was another year for Chennai Super Kings, in a row and another year for Dwayne Bravo to win the purple cap. This Caribbean bowler took 26 wickets in 17 matches at an economy of 8.14 and an average of 16.38.

2016 IPL Purple Cap – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was another addition to the list of Purple Cap winners. Kumar while playing for the SRH took 23 wickets in 17 matches with one 4-wicket haul. It was the same year that Sunrisers Hyderabad won their maiden IPL title and Bhuvneshwar Kumar played his equal role in it.

List of Purple Cap Winners in IPL 2017 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first-ever bowler to consecutively win Purple Cap in the second year as well. Kumar while playing for the SRH took 26 wickets this time, in 14 matches with a brilliant 5-wicket haul.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List 2018 – Andrew Tye (Punjab Kings)

During IPL 2018, any Punjab Kings bowler for the first time won Purple Cap. Andrew’s performance during that year was brilliant as he took wickets one after the other and became the highest wicket-taker of 2018. He took 24 wickets in 14 matches with three 4-wicket hauls!

Purple Cap Winners in IPL List 2019 – Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)

Have you noticed that Chennai Super Kings players won the most IPL Purple Caps? During the 2019 season as well, a CSK spinner, Imran Tahir won the Purple Cap award with the most wickets, that is 26 in 17 matches, including two 4-wicket hauls.

Purple Cap Winners List in IPL 2020 – Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)

After the 32 wickets, 30 wickets by Kagiso Rabada were the highest of all time. Rabada took these wickets in 17 matches with two 4-wicket hauls and won the Purple award for himself.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List 2021 – Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

RCB’s Harshal Patel became the first bowler to chase down Dwayne’s target of 32 wickets. Harshal while playing for the RCB, took 32 wickets in 15 matches, which means in lesser time than DJ Bravo and won the Purple Cap award. His wickets include one 4-wicket haul and one 5-wicket haul.

Also Read: The Future Of Games


A resource where one can find the latest updates & news about technology, software, gadgets and business ideas for the start-ups.

Published by

Recent Posts

Digitization Explained In Simple Words

"Digitization" - a term that is on everyone's lips. Not least because of the corona… Read More

11 hours ago

Improve Your Customer Communication With SMS

SMS is outdated as a means of communication? Free text messages are no longer a… Read More

4 days ago

What Is An EDI Mapping Actually Needed For?

Today, mapping encompasses more than only the initial mapping, i.e. the insertion of data into… Read More

4 days ago

Most Important Skills Required To Become A Successful Business Manager

Whether you have just been promoted to a position of management of a company, regardless… Read More

4 days ago

As A Business Owner, Why Hire An AdWords Consulting Firm?

When deciding to choose if you should engage a Google AdWords project manager, you should… Read More

6 days ago

This Is How A Shop Becomes Successful – 7 Online Shop Tips

In our time, a buying experience is only in the rarest of cases completely detached… Read More

1 week ago